Early Childhood Work Group Update August 2022


In fall 2021, the chapter adopted Early Childhood concerns as one of its top strategic priorities for the years 2022, ’23, and ’24. This decision changed our Early Childhood Caucus into the Early Childhood Working Group, still co-chaired by Krish Subrahmanian, MD, FAAP; Nathan Chomilo, MD, FAAP; and Roger Sheldon, MD, FAAP. The group has been working on legislation and on other projects.

One of the group’s goals is to keep chapter members informed. The work group is actively enlisting help in spreading the word about the needs of early childhood and family education, and the needs of childcare in general for the prenatal to three age group.

The work group will be providing you with the knowledge and opportunities to assist the chapter in improving the early childhood situation state-wide. They welcome your questions and suggestions for topics to include. Additional members of the working group are also needed. Please send your reactions, suggestions, questions and your offers of assistance to: Roger Sheldon (rogeugshe@gmail.com) or Mary Meland (melandmh@gmail.com).

Current work group members include:

Ada Alden

Gigi Chawla, MD, MHA, FAAP

Nathan Chomilo, MD, FAAP

Dale Dobrin, MD, FAAP

Chad Fahning

Faith Kidder, NP

Kath Kulus, MD, FAAP

Adam Langenfeld, MD, PhD, FAAP

Brian Lynch, MD, FAAP

Mary Meland, MD, FAAP

Christian Nagel, MD, FAAP

Nancy Ott, MD, FAAP

Roger Sheldon, MD, FAAP

Krishnan Subrahmanian, MD, FAAP

Pafoua Vang

Annual Sponsors

Children's Minnesota
Gillette Children's
Hennepin Healthcare
University of Minnesota Health
Essentia Health
Mayo Clinic
Shriners Healthcare for Children-Twin Cities