MNAAP Annual Awards

MNAAP recognizes annually those who are leading or involved in significant efforts to protect the health of Minnesota’s children. Award winners are recognized at MNAAP’s annual meeting.

Distinguished Service Award

Each year MNAAP recognizes a pediatrician for their outstanding efforts that contribute to the improvement of child health care. This is really the “Lifetime Achievement Award” for the pediatrician who has dedicated their life to improving care for children throughout the state of Minnesota.

Eric Dick Advocacy Award

MNAAP chooses an individual from the community who goes above and beyond their everyday routine to advocate for the health and welfare of children in Minnesota. This annual award was renamed in 2021 to honor of the chapter’s late lobbyist, Eric Dick, who passed away in January of that year. Eric was a tireless advocate for Minnesota’s infants, children, and teens.

Distinguished Service Award Recipients

YearDistinguished Service Award Winner
2022Lori DeFrance, MD, FAAP
2021Dawn Martin, MD, FAAP
2020Marjorie Hogan, MD, FAAP
2019Elsa Keeler, MD, MPH, FAAP
2018Linda Thompson, MD
2017Lydia Caros, MD
2016Marilyn Peitso, MD
2015Chuck Oberg, MD, FAAP
2014Daniel Broughton, MD, FAAP
2013Thomas Scott, MD, FAAP
2012Michael Severson, MD, FAAP
2011Edmund Burke, MD
2010Blanton Bessinger, MD, MBA
2009Ted Thompson, M.D.
2008Amos Deinard, MD, MPH
2007Michael A. Bronson, MD
2006Gerald Gilchrist, MD
2005Richard Raile, MD
2004James H. Moller, MD
2003Henry Staub, MD,FAAP
2002James Moore, MD, FAAP
2001G. Scott Giebink, MD, FAAP
2000Lowell Barr, MD, FAAP
1999Gunnar Stickler, MD, PhD
1998Jack Harkness, MD
1997Russ Lucas, MD and Mildred Norvall, MD
1996James Moller, MD
1995Arnold S. Anderson
1994Henry Staub, MD
1993Paul Quie, MD
1992Betty Jerome, MD- first award

Eric Dick Advocacy Award Winners

YearEric Dick Advocacy Award Winner
2022Kris Ehresmann and Rep. Dave Pinto
2021Emily Borman-Shoap, MD, FAAP and Karen Ernst
2020Tom Scott. MD, FAAP
2019Rep. Mike Freiberg
2017Anne Edwards, MD
2016Carolyn Allshouse and Lynne Burke
2015Art Rolnick, PhD
2013Maslon Edelman Borman & Brand, LLP
2012Edward Ehlinger, MD, MSPH
2011Glenace Edwall, PhD, PsyD, LP, MPP
2010John Hurley, MHA
2009Brynn Duncan and Family
2008Minneapolis Crisis Nursery
2007Paula Goldberg, Marge Goldberg
2006Marianne Keuhn
2005Charles Oberg, MD
2004Sen. Becky Lourey
2003Forrest Blanton Bessinger, MD,FAAP
2002James Koppel
2001Daniel Broughton, MD, FAAP
2000Senator Pat Piper
1999Susan Carlson
1998Peggy Spector
1995Patty Wetterling & Clark Hassey
1994Mary Azzahir

Annual Sponsors

Children's Minnesota
Gillette Children's
Hennepin Healthcare
University of Minnesota Health
Essentia Health
Mayo Clinic
Shriners Healthcare for Children-Twin Cities