Home | Conferences & Annual Meeting

Conferences & Annual Meeting

Join us May 3, 2019 for MNAAP’s Hot Topics in Pediatrics Conference and Annual Meeting

MNAAP’s annual conference draws speakers and attendees from clinics, hospitals and health systems across the state. We encourage you or at least one representative from your organization to attend! This is a great opportunity to network and learn from local pediatric experts about many hot-button issues. Additionally, meet the chapter’s Distinguished Service and Child Advocacy Award, recipients. Join for part or all of the day as your schedule allows.

Agenda and other details to be announced soon!

Registration is now open.



Past Events

May 1, 2015 – Hot Topics in Pediatrics Conference

June 13, 2014 – Hot Topics in Pediatrics Conference

March 26, 2014 – Pediatricians’ Day at the Capitol

May 13, 2013 – Hot Topics in Pediatrics Conference


Year Distinguished Service Award Winner
2018 Linda Thompson, MD
2017 Lydia Caros, MD
2016 Marilyn Peitso, MD
2015 Chuck Oberg, MD, FAAP
2014 Daniel Broughton, MD, FAAP
2013 Thomas Scott, MD, FAAP
2012 Michael Severson, MD, FAAP
2011 Edmund Burke, MD
2010 Blanton Bessinger, MD, MBA
2009 Ted Thompson, M.D.
2008 Amos Deinard, MD, MPH
2007 Michael A. Bronson, MD
2006 Gerald Gilchrist, MD
2005 Richard Raile, MD
2004 James H. Moller, MD
2003 Henry Staub, MD,FAAP
2002 James Moore, MD, FAAP
2001 G. Scott Giebink, MD, FAAP
2000 Lowell Barr, MD, FAAP
1999 Gunnar Stickler, MD, PhD
1998 Jack Harkness, MD
1997 Russ Lucas, MD and Mildred Norvall, MD
1996 James Moller, MD
1995 Arnold S. Anderson
1994 Henry Staub, MD
1993 Paul Quie, MD
1992 Betty Jerome, MD- first award


Year Child Advocacy Award Winner
2017 Anne Edwards, MD
2016 Carolyn Allshouse and Lynne Burke
2015 Art Rolnick, PhD
2013 Maslon Edelman Borman & Brand, LLP
2012 Edward Ehlinger, MD, MSPH
2011 Glenace Edwall, PhD, PsyD, LP, MPP
2010 John Hurley, MHA
2009 Brynn Duncan and Family
2008 Minneapolis Crisis Nursery
2007 Paula Goldberg, Marge Goldberg
2006 Marianne Keuhn
2005 Charles Oberg, MD
2004 Sen. Becky Lourey
2003 Forrest Blanton Bessinger, MD,FAAP
2002 James Koppel
2001 Daniel Broughton, MD, FAAP
2000 Senator Pat Piper
1999 Susan Carlson
1998 Peggy Spector
1995 Patty Wetterling & Clark Hassey
1994 Mary Azzahir


Year Special Awards
2018 AAP’s Large Chapter of the Year Award Presented to MNAAP (for accomplishments in 2017)
2017 AAP Holryod-Sherry Award: Dr. Dan Broughton
2017 AAP Murray Davidson Award: Dr. Sarah Jane Schwarzenberg
2015 Partners in Advocacy Award: Brandon Stahl
AAP Special Achievement Award: Larry Eisinger, MD of Fergus Falls for advocacy of rural pediatric care.
AAP Special Achievement Award: Ted Jewett, MD for leadership as a the Minnesota PROS liaison for 10 years.
2014 AAP’s Large Chapter of the Year Award Presented to MNAAP (for accomplishments in 2013)
Representative Kim Norton Receives the 2014 Child Advocate Legislator of the Year Award
Korissa Olson, Stacey Nugent and Paula and Andrea Bastian Receive the 2014 Newborn Screening Parent Advocate Award
AAP Special Achievement Award: Brian Lynch, MD, for his work as CATCH liaison for Minnesota
AAP Special Achievement Award: Tom Scott, MD, for his work in advancing bullying prevention legislation and the Marriage Equity amendment
2013 Senator John Marty Receives 2013 Child Advocate Legislator of the Year Award
AAP Special Achievement Award: Gordy Harvieux, MD of Duluth for leadership in implementing health care home in Minnesota.
AAP Special Achievement Award: Andrew Olson, MD of Minneapolis for leadership in implementing a medical student and resident abstract competition at the chapter level.
2012 AAP Special Achievement Award: Nancy Monaghan-Beery, MD of Duluth for her work in coordinating the Duluth Harvest Run, a run/walk, to raise awareness of childhood obesity.
AAP Special Achievement Award: Susan Berry, MD of Minneapolis for her work in coordinating the Minnesota newborn screening advocacy collaboration with professional and national parent groups.
AAP Special Achievement Award: Weining Hu, MD, and David Tilstra, MD of St. Cloud for their work with BLEND.
2010 AAP’s Large Chapter of the Year Award presented to MN-AAP (for accomplishments in 2009)
2008 AAP Award to Anne Edwards, MD, president, for leadership in overcoming unforeseen obstacles and successfully moving the chapter forward
2009 Special Achievement Award to Gordy Harvieux, M.D.
AAP Award to MN-AAP for its medical home program
AAP Award to Jeff Schiff, MD, for his efforts to advance medical home
2007 Special Service for Children Award to Representative Thomas Huntley
2001 Holroyd-Sherry Award to Marjorie Hogan, MD, FAAP
1997 National Academy’s Musical Education Award to Gunner Stickler, MD
1983 AAP Award to MN-AAP Safety Committee for Child Safety Restraint Awareness
1982 MN-AAP Public Service Achievement Award to Sen. Dave Durenberger
1963 MN-AAP Award to Harold Flanagan, MD, upon his election to AAP president
1956 MN-AAP Award to Dr. Huenekes


Each year MNAAP recognizes those who are leading or involved in significant efforts to protect the health of Minnesota’s children. Award winners are recognized at MNAAP’s annual meeting.

Distinguished Service Award

Each year the MN-AAP recognizes a pediatrician for his or her outstanding efforts that contribute to the improvement of child health care. This is really the “Lifetime Achievement Award” for the pediatrician who has dedicated his or her life to improving care for children throughout the state of Minnesota.

Nomination Form: Distinguished Service Award»

Child Advocacy Award

In addition, MN-AAP chooses an individual from the community who goes above and beyond his or her everyday routine to advocate for the health and welfare of children in Minnesota.

Nomination Form: Child Advocacy Award»

Annual Sponsors